The Indian government claims pv modules production capacity will reach 100 GW by 2026

Sep 27, 2023

Bhupinder Singh Bhalla, secretary of the Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE), revealed that India currently has 28 GW of solar module manufacturing capacity and 6 GW of battery capacity.


Speaking in New Delhi this week, MNRE Secretary Bhupinder Singh Bhalla said: "We aspire to make India a leading global supplier of renewable energy equipment."

Bhalla suggested that the Indian government has launched the Production-Linked Incentive (PLI) program and other policies to comprehensively promote the construction of the solar manufacturing ecosystem.

The PLI plan will support the addition of more than 48 GW of photovoltaic manufacturing capacity and cover different integration areas such as polysilicon to modules, ingot-wafer to modules, and cells + modules. Currently, India has an annual solar photovoltaic module manufacturing capacity of 28 GW and a battery capacity of 6 GW.


Bhalla said that many companies will continue to significantly increase production capacity on the basis of reaching the allocated capacity [PLI plan].


He added: "As a result, we estimate that our solar PV module manufacturing capacity is expected to reach 100 GW by 2026 when the PLI plan is fully implemented and other manufacturing capabilities are enhanced."


India aims to integrate 500 GW of non-fossil fuel power generation by 2030, including about 300 GW of solar power capacity. As of August 31, 2023, the country's installed solar capacity was 71.6 GW. Therefore, to achieve the 2030 target, India needs to add 30 to 40 GW of new solar power capacity every year.


Need Help? Chat with us

Our hours
Mon 11/21 - Wed 11/23: 9 AM - 8 PMThu 11/24: closed - Happy Thanksgiving!Fri 11/25: 8 AM - 10 PMSat 11/26 - Sun 11/27: 10 AM - 9 PM(all hours are Eastern Time)
Contact us #
+86 -18655186412

Our hours

Mon 11/21 - Wed 11/23: 9 AM - 8 PM
Thu 11/24: closed - Happy Thanksgiving!
Fri 11/25: 8 AM - 10 PM
Sat 11/26 - Sun 11/27: 10 AM - 9 PM
(all hours are Eastern Time)